Seven Days in May – a murder mystery

Seven Days in May – a murder mystery

Seven Days in May by John Barber

When a reporter from the Rutherford Echo accidentally stumbles into a hotel room he finds the local MP engaged in a compromising sexual position.

The room was being used to shoot a promotional film for clothing and accessories for the discerning adult.

The MP is forced to resign causing a by-election.

The town of Rutherford is known to reflect the mood of the country at election times so a lot of energy is put into the campaign by all political parties.

Detective Inspector Winwood is forced to cancel his leave and accept a desk job as a Liaison Officer for the security services who have been put on alert once the Prime Minister announces that he is due to support the Party campaign in the town.

Sergeant Archie Tibble is sent undercover with intelligence officer Inspector Ruth Coleman to check on any activity in the town itself. Winwood’s frustration is tempered by the discovery of a reclusive pop star found murdered with a chilling similarity to an unsolved murder case from thirty years previous.

Whilst Winwood finds helpful guidance from a terminally ill guest at the Fleetwood Arms Hotel Tibble finds romance with his female superior. As tension over the PM’s visit slowly increases Winwood uncovers vital clues to solve both murders despite being committed so many years apart.

Caution: explicit sexual content from the beginning.

Read a sample on Amazon from here

Download a sample or purchase the book for US$2.99 from the following.

Purchase from Smashwords
Download at least 10% free sample and buy in all formats
Purchase for kindle
buy from Amazon UK
Purchase from ibooks
Buy from Apple iBooks
Purchase from Barnes & Noble
Purchase from Barnes & Noble
purchase from kobo
purchase from kobo





This is part of the Inspector Winwood Murder Series.

For background to the town of Rutherford and D.I. Winwood see here.

Thank you for looking at my book.
You may also be interested in these British detective novels from Amazon.