Tottenham Hotspur 1960-1961 team photo

The Spurs Double Winning Team (l to r)


Danny Blanchflower (capt), Bill Brown, Ron Henry, Les Allen, Dave Mackay, Terry Dyson, Peter Baker, Maurice Norman, John White, Cliff Jones,

Bobby Smith.

Team page for photos and biographies of team, management and reserves.

Tottenham Hotspur line up 1960-1961


This is how the Spurs team of 1960/61 usually lined up. The 2-3-5 formation and positions may seem strange to the modern football fan.


By the end of the 1962 season this had been totally overtaken by the more conventional 4-4-2 and with it the decline of the orthodox winger.

Programme vs Sheffield Wednesday 17th April 1961   












Match day programme

Mon. April 17th 1961.

Click for a larger image.                                    

Fixtures and scores for 1960/61

This is the complete fixture list from season 1960/61.Clicking on the image will bring up new window and full size view.

This page is devoted to the night Spurs last won the Football League - as it was then, on Monday April 17th 1961.

The opposition was Sheffield Wednesday who were the first team that season to beat Spurs 2 -1 on Saturday November 12th 1960. The team went on to win the FA Cup Final at Wembley and become the first club to win the Double since Aston Villa in 1896-1897

Les Allen scores the winning goal

Les Allen scores the winning goal that clinches the title. Bobby Smith is in the foreground.

Dressing room celebration - winning first ten games

Celebrations in the dressing room for winning the opening ten matches - a League record.


It is better to fail aiming high than to succeed aiming low. And we of Spurs have set our sights very high, so high in fact that even failure will have in it an echo of glory.


We must always consider our supporters, for without them there would be no professional football. It would be better to have more fans watching football the way they like it played, rather than have a few fans watching football the way we would like it played.


It's no use just winning, we've got to win well.


When it is played at its best football remains the greatest game of all. And Tottenham, so close to my heart, is still to me the greatest club.


Bill Nicholson


More like this: Quote Sport Unquote

Tottenham Hotspur 1960 - 1961; the Double Year

I have posted a short (30 second) video on You Tube showing the 1961 FA Cup Final vs Leicester. It is in colour and although short, does show the two goals going in from Bobby Smith and Terry Dyson.

The Home Page of John Barber       Email: